Getting back to Running

I have been trying to run again. I used to run often, mostly because it was something I had to do based on a profession. I was not ever going to win a gold medal or place below 50% in any 5k to half marathon. My running was because I somewhat liked it, and it cleared my head.

2 years ago I ran a half marathon with no very much training of running or walking that far at once. I got sort of injured and I think I never have fully recovered. I moved onto other activities like the Erg, bike and mostly weight lifting.

By Thanksgiving I’d like to Run 2 miles straight for my own little turkey trot. I am running 3 days a week and adding a quarter mile each week to the distance. Right now I am at 1.25 miles. I spent October learning how to breath while I run and conditioning my legs to take understand what was going on, in a sense.

My one problem is my cafes on the sides and back tightened up. I just got a new pairs of shoes so I am going to try those out, and have started doing some foam rolling and stretching in the morning and after my short little runs.

I really do love it, and I don’t want to give it up, because I love doing a 5k a couple times a year and even a 10K. I think with dedication to my own mobility and not pushing myself to pain, I should be fine. I started reading Kelly Starrett ready to run, and I can’t wait to start getting back to a hobby I once enjoyed so much.

Leave a comment